Tom Foley

Tom Foley, County Executive

Where were you born (and raised, if different)?

I was born in Boston, Mass, but grew up primarily in Northern Virginia in Dale City. (Maurice Jones and I actually grew up in the same place and went to the same High School)

When and why did you move to the Charlottesville/Albemarle area?

I moved to the area in 1999 to become the Assistant County Executive for Albemarle.

What neighborhood do you live in now?

I live in Crozet.

Family (spouse, kids, etc)?

My wife Lori and I have been married almost 25 years and have three kids, Laura (23), Matt (21), and Bryan (19).

What is your alma mater and when did you graduate?

I graduated from Marshall University in 1985 with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration and from VCU in 1993 with a Master’s Degree in Public Administration.

What were you doing before coming to the county government?

I was the County Administrator for 5 years in Caroline County, Virginia and for 3 years in Cumberland County, Virginia.

Your job title is County Executive – what, in your own words, would you say you do?

I work with the Board of Supervisors in helping them set direction for the County and with County staff in carrying out the Board’s policies and directives in serving Albemarle citizens.

What is the best part of your job? The most difficult part?

Best: I enjoy working with the Board and staff to solve problems and improve the way the County does busines.

Most difficult: Dealing with personnel problems

How does your job most directly impact the average person?

I think the work we do with the budget and determining where we spend taxpayer money has the most direct impact on the services and programs that the average citizen experiences.

What is the most interesting project or work experience that you’ve had while with the county?

Rather than a particular project, I’ve enjoyed being a part of moving the County to a more strategic focus on the future to help clarify priorities and direction. That has involved operating according to a Strategic Plan and the development of a 5 Year Financial Plan. I really believe these efforts have made a difference and helped the County accomplish more for our citizens.

What is a little known fact about you?

My Dad was in the military and we lived oversees on the Island of Guam for several years when I was a kid

What do you do outside of work hours – hobbies, etc?

I most enjoy spending time outdoors, camping and hiking and spending time with my wife and kids.

Interested in what we're working on next? Sign up for our weekly newsletter and never miss a story.