Credit: Albemarle County

On Wednesday, January 6 the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors conducted its first meeting of 2016. As part of their organizational activities, they appointed the following members of the Planning Commission:

Magisterial district Planning Commission members are appointed for four-year terms, while the at-large member and UVA representative are appointed for two-year terms.

The duties and functions of the Albemarle County Planning Commission are to promote the orderly development of Albemarle County and its environment. The Commission serves primarily in an advisory capacity to the Board of Supervisors. The Commission also serves to improve public health, safety, convenience and welfare of County citizens and to plan for the future development of the County to the end that transportation systems be carefully planned; that new community centers be developed with adequate highway, utility, health, educational, and recreational facilities; that the needs of agriculture, industry and business be recognized in future growth; that residential areas be provided with healthy surroundings for family life; that agricultural and forestal land be preserved; and that the growth of the community be consonant with the efficient and economical use of public funds.